top of page

Bbi@ Last Lipsticks Swatches and Review

Hey hey! Today, I’ll be rambling about these great lipsticks I found!

Introducing the Bbi@ Last Lipsticks.

3 series. 15 shades.

Manufactured in Korea.

Velvet Matte finish.

3.2 g per tube.

The Brand: Bbi@

I think this is pronounced as bee-bee-yah, but I am not sure. Anyway, Bbi@ stands for "Blooming Beauty In Online Ocean.” It is a functional makeup cosmetics brand exclusively sold online. It specializes in color makeup (i.e. lipsticks, eyeshadows, eyeliners, etc.)

I first heard of the brand from a beauty Youtuber (Sunnydahye) who gifted a liquid lipstick to her friend. She said that Bbi@ has really good products at very affordable price points; and also mentioned that stocks are quickly running out. I do not know about you but everything she said (great products, inexpensive, raved about) marks a tick on my checklist.

The Bbi@ website is only in either Korean or Chinese so it might be a little difficult to manage your way through. So your best bet would be purchasing these off from trusted Korean Beauty online stores such as beautynetkorea.com, amazon.com, and koreadepart.com (you can find affiliated stores here). Really need to be careful though because as I was reading about the brand, I found blogs saying that they got fakes. With that, please make sure to do your research and buy only from trusted sites. As for me, I got mine from gmarket.com.

The Product: Bbi@ Last Lipsticks Velvet Matte

This is the brand’s second cream lipstick line, if I am not mistaken, since it launched. Bbi@ also has a line of liquid lipsticks, which Korean beauty enthusiasts have also been raving about - but let’s save that for another post.

(not sure about the gloss finish, because these are completely matte, IMO.)

The line currently has three series with five shades each, so that’s a total of 15 shades. However, I was only able to get hold of shades from the first and second series (Red Series and Red Series 2.)

Packaging

These lipsticks come in square tubes with a matte finish. I do not think I can think of any brand with a similar packaging, maybe the closest would be those of the Nars Audacious Lipstick line. Then again, those feel really luxurious compared to these because these ones feel flimsy and cheap. I also fear about the twisting mechanism - it feels like it might get broken easily because there’s no “weight” or “force,” meaning you can easily twist up until the very bottom with no effort at all (can’t really complain though because of the huge price difference.) I am just really hoping that what they lacked in packaging, they will make up for with the formula (budget allocation at its finest!)

In terms of shape and finish though, I think they are comparable. Contrary to how they feel, they look expensive and classy. The Red Series come in red tubes, whereas the Red Series 2 come in green ones. I am not sure why the brand chose these colors, but they remind me of Christmas when placed side by side. Another problem I have about the packaging is that if you cannot read Korean, like me, there is no way to tell which shade is which, as the only indicator they have is the sticker at the bottom with the shade number and Korean name.

It does not have a magnetic clasp but the tube does shut with a “click” so that helps ensures that it’s properly closed.

Shades

Colors in the Red Series stay true to the name - they all run red; while I think the ones from the Red Series 2 are more brown-based. The shade range may not be a lot, but I actually think it’s a good thing because then, it’ll be easier for you to find the red or nude that matches you the most. Unfortunately, the store I ordered from did not have No.9 Captivating in stock at the tiem of my purchase so I was not able to get hold of that; but just for reference, and in case you are interested, Captivating is more of a dark chili red shade, with a bit of orange hues.

I’ll try to describe each of the shades to the best of my abilities. Haha. Let me warn you though, I am not very good at describing...

#1 Provocative - out of the shades in both series, this color is the truest red. The actual one runs very true to the color on the promo. Suitable for any skin tone and will definitely make your teeth appear whiter.

#2 Positive - this has a Barbie pink color. It seemed brighter on the promo than on real life; it actually looks coral on real life. I feel like this is more suitable for those of us with yellow undertone. Go for this if you want a cute look!

#3 Fascinating - if you like fuchsia pinks, then you will love this! I feel like the color is very neutral and will suit a lot of skin tones. Again, similar to #2, this does not run as bright as it does on the promo and is actually really wearable - even on full lips. This is one of my favorite shades on me!

#4 Intelligent - Looking for a pink brown shade? Then here you go! I think this is one of the best sellers from both series because most of the blogs I found feature this. It's truly an every day color that is flattering on light to medium skin tones.

#5 Strong - True to its name, I think this is the darkest color out of all from both series. Strong is a deep red with plum undertones, though the plum undertone is more visible on the promo than on real life. Noentheless, I love how this dark shade applies super evenly even with just one swipe! If you're considering a dark lip but are not very used to applying lipstick, then this one is a good bet since it does not leave much of a stain which makes correcting/erasing easy!

#6 Emotional - It may look like a rosy brown on the promo, but that is not true in real life. This shade is a soft tan color and definitely with yellow undertones. This can be an everyday color for those of you with medium skintones, I feel like this will wash out girls with fair skin and be too light on people with darker tones.

#7 Dreamlike - Love peachy coral shades? Then this is your dream come true!! Actual color is very much similar to the one on the promo.

#8 Active - This is the series' rosy mauve shade. It runs more pink on the promo though than in real life, where its orange hues shine through. This is also one of my favorite shades on me.

#10 Unrivaled - A pinkish red with yellow undertones. Grab this if you want a flexible shade that can easily take your look from daytime cutie to nighttime vixen.

Texture and Formula

Even though I was not too impressed with the packaging, I am super in loooove with the formula of these lipsticks. They did it, guys, they made up for their poor packaging with an awesome formulation!!

They are creamy, velvety, glide on really easily, have super goof pigmentation - full color upon one swipe, are lightweight - I did not feel like I had anything on my lips during wear. They may not be moisturizing, as they claim to be, but they’re not the driest formula I have tried. You may still want to use a balm before applying these lipsticks if you have dry lips. They do last quite a long time, but was very easy to remove. I also did not have trouble blending them out (to create gradient lips). However, if you’re someone who likes lipsticks that stain, then you may not like these.

As for the fragrance, these lipsticks have a very light and subtle candy scent to them. It reminds me of something I loved to eat when I was younger, but I really cannot remember the name! The scent is not overpowering and is actually quite pleasant.

Final thoughts

I really like these lipsticks and highly recommend it!~

Pros:

- Affordable, worth your money

- Great formula (biggest win!!)

- Nice packaging appearance

- Easy to store

Cons:

- Limited access and availability (only sold online)

- Some people may find the square tube bulky

- Poor packaging mechanism

This is for you if:

1. You are new to makeup, would like to experiment with colors and find your perfect red and nude without investing a lot of money.

2. You collect lipsticks … like me :)

3. You’re on a hunt for a great matte lipstick formula, your everyday color and/or a wearable red.

4. You hate the feeling of wearing lipstick - the formula of these is really lightweight and not that drying!

5. You do not mind reapplying your lipstick during the day.

6. You are quite organized with your everyday bag - I am saying this because I feel like these might easily break if not stored properly.

Thanks for stopping by!

-----

Promo pictures all grabbed from the BBi@ website.

RECENT POSTS
JOIN MY MAILING LIST

THE

J-Beauty

STOP

est. 2017

SEND JELAINE A HELLO!

Thanks! I'll get back to you shortly :)

THE J-Beauty STOP

The letter "J" in J-Beauty stands for Jelaine. This is the space where she mainly talks about her number one passion - beauty.

It also stands for Japan or Japanese. Jelaine is currently living in Tokyo, which we all know is a pioneer to the most innovative (and sometimes, weirdest) beauty products. This blog chronicles her journey as she explores this beautiful and "beauty-full" city.

Thanks for stopping by!

bottom of page